The Dream

I stand alone in darkness now

Listening, listening but there is no sound

I search for light in this abyss

I think that I’ve received death’s kiss

These iron gates have barred me out

I try, and try but cannot shout

I lie alone here wondering why

I try, and try but cannot cry

These cruel imaginings come flashing

I cannot shout, I cannot cry

Then all at once a ray of light

And I know now that I must fight

The darkness here, it can be broken

Like promises that have been spoken

The ray of light is growing faint

This world of darkness forever taints

Then out of the silence a piercing scream

This world of darkness was but a dream

Does this darkness have a name?

This cruelty….

This hatred…

How did it find us? 

Leave a Reply

