Reality Awaits

     If you were to die tomorrow would you be content with the way you’d be leaving things with the people in your life? If not, you are wrong. I want to write a letter to someone that actually matters to them. I’m not talking about the conventional “butterflies” feeling, I mean a feeling like one would get when seeing their favorite band live for the first time; a perfect sense of clarity, euphoria, and understanding. I want to inspire that in someone else, because that feeling will never die… That seems like a worthwhile venture, but more and more often people rely on what others can do for them rather than how others treat them and make them feel. You say that I’m not a “feelings” person but rather a logical one and I’d like to counter by saying that you are blind. I am both, I refuse to let my emotions rule my brain, It wouldn’t do any good for either side. If you truly believe that I lack feelings in any sense then you don’t really know me at all. Without feelings you are a robot, and without logic you are an idiot.  

       Where do our largest desires and dreams stem from? Do we gain the majority of our intellect through our parents and the school systems who have taught them and will teach their children? Or do we fabricate the image that is to be the “best part of ourselves.” Ever since I was a very young child I remember watching the television and wishing that I could be the character that was depicted on the screen. These people are the embodiment of happy with perfect hair, teeth, and a smile that faded only once with crushing finality only to be brought back the next morning. Who wouldn’t want that? The I found out much later in life that our world very rarely works in such a fashion, We devote what is debatably the best part of our lives to the pursuit of knowledge that is pulled from a curriculum devised by our leaders to teach us “the skills we will need to succeed in life.” Only to discover that you will spend the rest of your natural life working day and night falling into the same routine day after day until you finally wake up towards the end of your life and you wonder “What if…” That sounds like a tragedy to me. But hey, we have all these virtual tools that can help us forget about our lives for a while so it doesn’t really matter, right? Maybe it is time to look at reality again, because we have forgotten who we are and how we got here in the first place. It’d sure be a shame to look back and see that you were blind rather than intelligent. Just remember that without suffering there would be no compassion, and that nothing worthwhile is ever easy.


“That man is good who does good to others; if he suffers on account of the good he does, he is very good; if he suffers at the hands of those to whom he has done good, then his goodness is so great that it could be enhanced only by greater sufferings; and if he should die at their hands, his virtue can go no further: it is heroic, it is perfect.”  –  Jean de La Bruyère  

5 thoughts on “Reality Awaits

  1. Most of the times, people act irrationally. They claim to follow their heart. When I point it out that just coz one wants to follow their heart, doesn’t mean they have to blindly do so. In response, I’m told that I’m an idiot who doesn’t understand the feelings of love. The reason I’m mentioning this is because I liked the part where you mention that you don’t let your emotions rule your brain. I do the same, and I always end up looking like an unemotional bitch. It’s nice to see someone like me out there. Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The people who get angry due to our writing (if I may) are usually to whom it applies. If the shoe fits and whatnot. I never intend to upset others with my writing. I want only to show them that there is a side of life that is rapidly being forgotten and if I am to be labeled harshly for that fact then I see it as a small price to pay. All the words have to do is touch one person’s life in a positive way and it becomes something much more than just words on a page. It becomes a beacon of light for those who stumble through the darkness. It is to the people who feel alone and lost that I write, and everything and everyone else is simply background noise. I very much admire your work so far and I look forward to seeing what comes next Kira. Keep writing and attempt to change the world. even if you do not succeed perhaps one of the people you influenced along the way will.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I concur. Some people are way too narrow minded. So it’s really good to see you express on our behalf in such a magnificent way. Sometimes, all we need is to know that somebody out there apprehends what we can’t express. Thank you, Weston. I admire your work, as I can completely emphatize with it. I will try my best. Hope to see more interesting posts from you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read your note on Community Pool. If you are looking for more readers, you need to get out and read and make comments. People will return the favor and some will follow you. It’s how I built my readership. I liked your post, BTW. lily

    Like

Leave a Reply

